Video Post – Sea Kayaking to Koh Karang and Around Kep/Kampot

Steve, my friend and adventurer-in-crime, put together a great video of our October trip from Kep, Cambodia across 8km of open sea to Koh Karang – a tiny island in the Gulf of Thailand that we had been dreaming about for nearly three years.  We even had time for a little side microadventure through the gorgeous coastal mangroves that separate Kep and Kampot.  I’ll post my pictures and a brief write-up soon.  In the meantime, enjoy the video!

~ by responsiblenomad on December 8, 2011.

5 Responses to “Video Post – Sea Kayaking to Koh Karang and Around Kep/Kampot”

  1. I would love to do this sometime soon. Did you rent your kayaks from the Sailing Club?

    • Hi Faine,

      Thanks for following! The kayaks at Sailing Club are decent – you standard hard plastic, flat variety. Best suited more for short journeys – esp. at $5 or so an hour. The sailing boats are very nice, though ($20+ an hour). I have my own inflatable, which I bring around. There are a few expats in PNP that have similar kayaks and you could likely twist their arms to borrow one. I heard that Xplore Asia rents out kayaks, as well – mainly for the journey from Stueng Treng down the Mekong to Kratie – not sure if you can do independently or only as a tour.

      I am headed to Cambodia again sometime in Feb/March next year for a longer kayak journey around there, which you’re certainly welcome to join for a portion. I HIGHLY suggest the mangroves portion (second day in the video) – that was spectacular around sunset… I bet without much effort you could convince a fisherman along the canal to lend/rent you a boat… that would be an adventure.

  2. […] mountainous island that is, at points, just four kilometers away from Cambodia.  It is so close – Steve and I nearly paddled to it in 2011 – but requires an expensive visa and a night in Ha Tien.  However, with my visa already in hand […]

  3. Reblogged this on Tim Rann's Blog and commented:

    Reposting this in anticipation of my trip back to Cambodia next week. This time Steve and I are planning a cycling descent of the old colonial road along the northeastern spine of Bokor Mountain. Will post a write-up in mid-November.

  4. […] Video Post – Sea Kayaking to Koh Karang and Around Kep/Kampot […]

Leave a Reply

 
