It’s Beginning to Look at Lot Like Christmas in Hanoi

With every passing hour Hanoi is growing on me.

This evening Hanoi is facing Singapore in the Suzuki Cup and the city is buzzing.  I love how Vietnamese women have a strong affinity for football – the six kind women who run my serviced apartment building are huddled around a tiny TV downstairs, hollering at every missed cross.  After polishing off a pleasant Indian dinner of chicken tikka at Foodshop 45, I wandered along the Truc Bach lake promenade.  I wove my way around groups of people sharing hot pot on mats on the sidewalk, all transfixed on the various televisions screening the match.  Hot pot was tempting – its nearly cold enough here that you can see your breath, but I still haven’t given in and bought a North Face jacket like many of my coworkers.

It’s nuts, but I miss cold weather.  Or, more accurately, it doesn’t feel like Christmas without it.  I am headed back to the US for a quick trip over Christmas – my first time at home for the holiday season in four years.  The new art, lights, delicious gingerbread men, and Sinatra tunes at Joma Cafe all have put me in a nostalgic mood and I can’t wait to get home. I snapped the picture below from my new office desk earlier this evening.  Sitting there with our Country Manager in his red sweater and Project Manager hidden in a ball of scarves and puffy jackets, I felt like I could have been anywhere in the greater Chicago-land area.

~ by responsiblenomad on December 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
